:: WKKG Local News ::

Reliable Comfort Heating and Air Conditioning

Republicans see clear path to fall election

Most of Bartholomew County's Republican candidates for office in the November election have a clear run ahead of them.

That's after a filing deadline for independent candidates passed at the end of the week. According to the county voter registration office no last-minute candidates stepped forward to compete for races including sheriff, prosecutor, county commissioner and two seats on the Bartholomew County Council.

The only contested county races will be for county clerk, where Republican Jay Phelps will run against Democrat Rose Johnson and for two county council seats. Chris Ogle, the Republican incumbent councilman in District One, will run against Democrat Jean Marr Wilkins and Republican incumbent Jorge Morales will face Democrat Doug Memering in the fall in District 4.

Democrat Zack Ellison has filed to run against Republican incumbent Milo Smith for the Indiana House in District 59.

The deadline to file for independents was at noon on Thursday.

Candidates in uncontested races in Bartholomew County include:

County Auditor – Barbara J. Hackman

County Recorder – Anita L. Hole

County Treasurer – Pia O’Connor

County Sheriff – Matt Myers

County Assessor – Lew Wilson

County Commissioner (District 2) – Carl H. Lienhoop

County Council District 2 – Laura Dedomenic

County Council District 3 -  Mark E. Gorbett


Last Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014 10:06:58 AM

More Headlines

Advantage Partners

WKKG • A White River Broadcasting Station • Mailing Address ~ P.O. 1789 Columbus, IN 47202
Studio ~ 3212 Washington Street Columbus, Indiana  47203
PH: 812-372-4448 • WKKG Studio Line: 812-376-1015 • Toll Free Studio Line: 1-877-269-1015 • email: